Hotel U Krale Karla serves as a hotel in the old Prague since 1993, when it underwent major renovations and has a rich history dating back to the year 1639.
Two town houses, from which the Hotel U Krale Karla was reconstructed, were built in 1639 from the original Gothic house owned by the Benedictine monks. Thus rebuilt Baroque house was known in Prague as the old house by the Three Roses. In the 19th century the house was rebuilt in classical style and there is a remain of original house sign with a fresco of the Madonna and three stucco roses. Hotel King Charles (its former historical building) was part of the Royal Route till the 17th century.
Part of the Royal Route
Royal Route is the name of the historical way through the center of Prague, which was passing through the historical city by the impending Czech kings to coronation. Till the 17 century the route went through Úvoz to Pohořelec, just around the house with Three roses, (nowadays Hotel U Krale Karla) because the present street - Ke Hradu did not exist yet.
The route began at the King's Court in the Old Town, the former seat of Czech kings next to the Powder Tower (on the site of the present Municipal House). Continues Celetná Street, Old Town Square, around the Old Town Hall, across from the Town Square, Charles Street around Clementine, through the Knights of the Cross Square, Old Town Bridge Tower at the Charles Bridge, the Lesser Town Bridge Tower, down the street at the Bridge Lesser Town Square and street Nerudova and Ke Hradu (formerly Pohořelec ) and over the Hradcany Square to the Prague Castle and the St. Vitus Cathedral. The present form is stabilized from the 17th century. Today it serves as the main tourist center of the Prague route.